Mockingbird.

I’d be the first to admit that I’m not a big fan of American literature. I often find it dry, boring, and lacking real plot and characters. So it’s no small thing when I bought a copy of Harper Lee’s To Kill a Mockingbird.

I first read it when I was studying for my bachelor’s degree several years ago. It was one of several American works that we had to choose from to read and this one was the one that I found most interesting out of all of them. Needless to say, I couldn’t stop reading it and knew that it would be the few pieces from an American writer that I would truly love even after many years.

Over the weekend, I went to Barnes and Noble to browse through the books and see what bargain prices they had this time. I noticed a big sign that said that all leather bound classics were on sale for $15. I immediately went to pick up a copy of Mockingbird. I always admired this edition of the book because the cover is so pretty and simplistic, conveying everything it needs in little detail. I never bought it before now because it costs $5 more than the other leather bound copies. With it being on sale, however, I got it for $10 cheaper. I felt like I won the lottery.

I don’t know why I like Mockingbird so much. I think it comes down to the fact that the author chooses a language that is so easily accessible. Even Scout is an easy character to spend time with because she’s so young and frank about everything. She doesn’t understand the complexities of adults and often wonders why people are acting the way they do. Instead of weighing heavily on morals, she brings it to us gently and makes us think about them in ways we wouldn’t have thought before.

I’ve only read Harper Lee’s novel twice in all my life, but I hope with such a grand copy, I’ll be able to re-visit it time and again. It’s one of those books that need to be read at different points in your life because you get different things out of them. Now I don’t have to worry about finding a copy of it at the library. One less book off my list of books to acquire.

Leave a Reply

