On American Writers.

I need to make a confession:

I haven’t read a lot of the American classics.

Isn’t that wild? You’d think that as an American, we’d make it our main focus, but that doesn’t seem to be the case. At least in my experience.

It seems like the majority of what I read in class about American literature has been short stories and poetry. Some of the classics I’ve read I read because it was one of several different options. I went online and googled “American classics” and realized I read more than I thought I did, but it’s still less than what a lot of others have had to read, it seems like.

Some of the American classics I’ve read include the following:

  • On the Road by Jack Keruac
  • The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
  • The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger
  • The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne
  • Lord of the Flies by William Golding
  • White Fang by Jack London
  • Uncle Tom’s Cabin by Harriet Beecher Stowe
  • To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
  • The Crucible

For me, American writers always seem to be a little dry. The simplistic writing style of Hemingway and followers always feels textbook dry to me and others feel wieldy (The Scarlet Letter-esque writers.) That being said, I did enjoy To Kill a Mockingbird and White Fang. Maybe I should read more Southern Gothic and Nature based books?

If you have any suggestions, let me know!

Leave a Reply

