The Goodreads Book Tag

I saw this little book meme type thing on Blogs of a Bookaholic and decided that this would be fun to participate in. I’m not big on doing memes, but it’s fun to indulge in something a little silly every once in a while and maybe you’ll learn something new along the way (or in the very least interesting.) Without further ado, let’s jump right in.

What was the last book you marked as read?

The last book I marked as read on Goodreads was The Shadow Rising by Robert Jordan. In fact, I wrote a review about it yesterday and you can find that here. It’s the fourth book in the Wheel of Time series and it took me quite a while to get through. I’ve been wanting to finish the series because it’s been on my mind for several years and of course I’m one of those readers who get plagued by books and series that I never finished reading. It’s not as bad as it used to be, but some have still endured and this is one of them. I need to finish it before it utterly consumes me.

What are you currently reading?

I’m currently reading Becoming Nicole by Amy Ellis Nutt. I saw this book at a Barnes and Noble a couple of years ago and thought it’d be a good read, but then I completely forgot about it. And for some reason I was thinking about it and decided to request it from the library. It’s a true story of a couple who adopted twin boys from a family member from birth. At the age of three one of the twins began displaying femininity and telling everybody that he was a girl. It’s the story of one family’s struggle to understand their child’s gender and being accepting of a change they never knew about before. The transgender community isn’t something that is talked about openly and I’m finding it interesting to see a family allow a young child to transition at a young age. I don’t think it would have happened any earlier. It’s something to think about in the very least.

What was the last book you marked as “to read”?

The last book I marked as “to read” on Goodreads was American Gods by Neil Gaiman. I don’t know why I marked it as to read to be honest. I wouldn’t even try the attempts to read his other books were actually attempts; I brought them home one day and after reading a paragraph or two and letting it sit for a couple weeks, I took it back to the library. But this one actually looked interesting.

From what I understand of the summary, the main character spent some time in prison and when he got out, he meets different characters and learns about life. There may or may not be supernatural elements, I can’t remember, I only glanced at the summary. Knowing that he generally writes supernatural, I wouldn’t be surprised if there was. I marked it as to read because they’re making it into a film and it might be beneficial to read a Gaiman novel just once just to say I did. We’ll see how that works out.

Do you use the star rating system?

Yes, I do. I didn’t use to take it as seriously as I did, but I have more often, especially since I have a book blog and I want to be serious on my book blog. I often add 3 stars as “I liked it” because well, I liked it and it annoys me when people think every single book is 4 or 5 stars and saying how amazing it is. Not every book is amazing and what are you going to say when a book is truly amazing? Anyway, yes, I do use it and eventually I’m going to put up my rating system here on my blog to make it more official.

Are you doing the 2017 reading challenge?

Yes, though my goal for this year isn’t as high as I usually set it. I feel pressured to meet my goal every year and it sucks the enjoyment out of it all. I do have a small private journal where I’m writing down every book I read because occasionally I have an interest to see how many books a year I read and Goodreads helps with that as well in case I forgoet to write it down in my physical copy.

Do you have a wishlist?

Sort of. I’m becoming a minimalist with my books so I’m only buying special (to me) books. Right now I’m collecting the leather bound classics that I really like and books that I’ve read that I connected to and might want to read again. I only buy books nowadays if they’re in good condition and I really want to read it. Otherwise, I check it out at the library. That way I can save money and if I don’t like it, I can return it without feeling obligated to finishing it.

Who are your favorite authors?

This is hard because I tend to enjoy individual books by certain authors and don’t necessarily like any other books by them. I tend to stop reading other books by the same author if I like one because I end up disappointed unless they’ve written sequels. I do enjoy Stephen King for his writing style (of The Green Mile and On Writing type) and I’ve enjoyed Sara Gruen and Tolkien and others. Don’t corner me!

Have you joined any groups?

Yes, but I don’t look at them anymore, to be honest and I requested that I don’t receive notifications from the groups because that got annoying after a while. I used to enjoy going into The Seasonal Reading Challenge, that’s a good group to be a part of, but I haven’t participated in a long time (several years, maybe — gasp!) I joined it because someone I work with was really into it at the time. I think she’s culling back too. Whoops!

How many Goodreads tags do you have?

I don’t know. I used to have a lot, then I deleted them and re-started them so I don’t have nearly as many as I used to. And I got lazy and didn’t want to go through my read shelf again and re-tag everything, so half of my items are tagged. They’re very generalized: YA, horror, mystery, fantasy, etc. I’m not very creative. :/

I tag…

Anyone who wants to participate. No pressure or anything, I know how pressured I am when someone tags me. 😉

2 thoughts on “The Goodreads Book Tag

Leave a Reply

