What I’ve Been Doing, Reading-wise.

For the months of February and March, I was signed up for a YA reading contest. I wouldn’t have known about it had a children’s librarian not told me, but once she told me they were going to sign up and try and win a prize for the most amount of pages read, I felt obligated to participate. In the first week or so, I was enthusiastic about participating. I read a couple of exciting books, one of them being a book called The Serpent King. But as the weeks went by, I felt a little jaded by the whole experience. Don’t get me wrong, I love young adult literature and can spend a lot of time in that section if you let me, but I’m one of those people who get bored if I read in the same section for a long period of time. So needless to say I was happy when the event was done and over with.

Here are some of the books that I read for the event:

  • Diplomatic Immunity by Brodi Aston
  • The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner
  • Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret by Judy Blume
  • The Chosen One by Carol Lynch Williams
  • In the Stone Circle by Elizabeth Cody Kimmel
  • After Tupac and D Foster by Jacqueline Woodson
  • Little Town at the Crossroads by Maria D Wilkes
  • Little Clearing in the Woods by Maria D Wilkes
  • I Will Plant You a Lilac Tree by Laura Hillman
  • The Scary Stories Treasury by Alvin Schwartz
  • Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys

To be honest, I’m actually surprised that I read as many as I did. I didn’t think I could read a whole lot, but it happened. Obviously, some of them are meant for the younger side of the teen bracket, but most of them are for older teens and all them touch on some sort of subjected that teens face. And I’m proud that I actually read a lot of new books that I never read before. I tend to re-read certain books when I feel like I’m under pressure to get books done by a certain time period because I already know what’s going to happen and I can read through it fast, but at least I made an effort.

I finished up a book in the Secrets of Mary’s Bookshop series. Lately, the series has been my go to when I need something light to get my mind off the heavy subjects, but I don’t read them often because each book starts to sound the same after a while.

Now I’m reading a book called The Trapped Girl by Robert Dugoni. It’s the fourth book in the Tracy Crosswhite series and I have to say that I’m impressed by the author. Tracy Crosswhite is a homicide detective who was motivated to become one when her sister went missing twenty years prior and had no idea what happened to her. The first book, My Sister’s Grave, focuses on her obsession with finding out exactly what happened to her sister while the subsequent books follow the cases that she receives through the police department.

If you know me, you know I don’t read a whole lot of mystery books. It’s just not a genre that I enjoy reading as a general rule. But this series is an exception because Dugoni actually takes his writing seriously and doesn’t fall into typical mystery tropes, and if he does, he does it in such a way that he doesn’t make it obnoxiously obvious, if there is such a thing.

I think that’s all I’ve got to say about what I’ve been up to reading wise. I hope to get back into the swing of things about writing about books. I’ve missed it, to be honest.

Leave a Reply

