Trying to get in the groove.

I haven’t been in the mood to read, to be honest. The first book I finished reading in the new year was a book that I had started reading at the beginning of December and I happened to finish the last half of the book at the beginning of January. The second book I read (Love Comes Softly), I finished because it was a fairly short read and there wasn’t much meat to it. I started a book a couple weeks ago called Into the Wilderness by Sara Donati but it’s such a long book I don’t know when I’ll finish it. Perhaps in a month. Books take me a while these days.

I finally received a book at the library that I’ve been waiting for called Shakespeare Saved My Life. I started reading it early last year but for whatever reason I couldn’t relate or wanted to finished the book so I returned it. I decided to give it another go and I hope that this time around will be successful. If you haven’t heard about it, the author is an English professor who volunteers her time at various prisons in Indiana teaching Shakespeare. In this particular book, she talks about teaching Shakespeare to inmates in maximum security prisons. She tells of these prisoners, their stories, and how such a great man in literary culture has drastically changed these inmates’ lives. I find the premise interesting and I hope very much that I can reach the end of this book.

What are some of the books you’ve been reading? I hope the new year is treating you okay so far.

Leave a Reply

