Paring Down the Books.

I’ve come to the realization that in recent weeks I’ve sunk down into the world of comfort books. Books that don’t take very long to read, books that have a happy ending. I know that real life doesn’t happen that way and I’ve definitely read a lot of those kinds of books, but sometimes I grow weary with the darkness that some of the world has to endure. I just want to read something that allows me to escape from the world.

I don’t think one is more important than the other. Both have their place in the world. The one allows us to cushion the pain and hurt, the others to let us be aware.

I’m also trying to read through some of my books that I own. I don’t think I would have ever dreamed that I’d be saying this and I hope other book lovers won’t despise me for saying it, but I really do have way too many books. If I get anymore books, I’ll end up piling them on the floor and I don’t really want to do that (I am a semi neat freak.) I don’t like seeing piles of books everywhere and I want to be able to get through them and either sell them at my mom’s annual garage sale or take them to Half Price Books and get a measly amount for them. When I finally pare down my books, I want to only buy special hard back books that I want to keep forever or put them on my Nook to read them. That or just borrow them from the library.

I’m not really a minimalist as some people are trying to become these days, but neither do I want tons of books. I’d hate to think how I’d move them if I ever had to move. They’d be too heavy to move in boxes and I don’t want that.

What have you been reading lately? Are reading something that makes you think or are you reading a comfort book?

Leave a Reply

