The Book Dilemma

I have a dilemma.

Do I read literary fiction or do I read something light?

Do I want to be seen as cultured or uncultured?

This is my problem every day. When I finish one book, I can’t decide which book to read next. People are judgmental, and I don’t want to be judged by the book I’m reading.

I shouldn’t be so self conscious about the books I’m reading. After all, there are many different books for many different interests and specific needs. But we seem to get ourselves into a rut by defining what we should and shouldn’t be reading. And that’s not what we should be doing. We should be encouraging people to read no matter what the genre or topic is. If you enjoy it, read it.

I finished up reading a book about haunted places in Ohio. Now I’m starting to read a fluffy book mystery set in a bookshop. They’re not literary. They’re not literary. They’re not foreign books translated. But I’m enjoying them. They’re light and gives my mind rest from the heavier books I find myself reading in between.

What kinds of books do you enjoy reading?

Leave a Reply

