Justice and Other Sequels.

I picked up a book from work the other day because I thought the cover was interesting and the premise of the story sounded even better. I started reading a little bit of it and liked it, but when I went on Goodreads to read it to my ever growing “to read” list, I sadly discovered that it was book number two. Needless to say, I think I’m going to return the book at some point and I’ll eventually go to the first book and see if that makes any difference in how much sense the story goes. I’ll probably not read it right away because frankly, I have a lot of books that I own that I want to read and catch up on and possibly get id of before starting anything else that I can get from the library. I wish they’d make books more obvious that they were sequels or even the first book in a series so that you can better prepare yourself. It’s annoying when you pick up a book to read and then find out that it’s not a stand alone let alone the first book in a series.

I have a book by Dominick Dunne called “Justice” that I got for Christmas a few years ago, so I think I’ll start with that one. If you don’t know who he is, he’s a commentator on Hollywood and socialite murders and even had a show on the Courtroom channel back in the day but has died in the last four years or so. His daughter was Dominique Dunn who had been an actress in the late 70’s, early 80’s and had been the older daughter in Poltergeist. I think her famous line was “What’s happening?” but that’s all I know of the movie since I haven’t watched it. Well, she was murdered a few months after filming Poltergeist by her obsessive ex boyfriend and the first story in Dominick Dunne’s book is about his daughter’s murder and trying to get justice for her. It’s amazing to me that there are so many prominent people who are connected to death and murder even if you don’t realize it.

Leave a Reply

