Of Glass Slippers and Revenge.

Because it was my birthday yesterday, I spent the day doing a lot of things that I enjoyed doing, like going for a walk, eating at my favorite pizza place, and walking through the bookstore for a few minutes. I opened my presents in the morning and I got a beautiful leather bound copy of The Wonderful Wizard of Oz. To be quite honest, I never actually watched the movie growing up, the few times I tried, I stopped in disgust, but the book, now, the book is glorious. When I was a kid, I had a nice copy of The Wizard of Oz. My childhood copy had a full page illustrations with the characters looking natural and realistic, almost in a painting/fine pencil sketching style (I say this because I don’t know the official words that artists use in that field).

OzThis leather bound copy I got yesterday was beautiful, but the sketches looked like they came with the book when it was first printed in the early 1900’s. The characters felt a little cartoonish and for me, disconnected to the story. I know this must only be me because I’m used to a different set of illustrations that had different interpretations of the characters as well as which scenes to depict, as well. For example, in my old book, one of the illustrations, the artist chose to depict the tiger/bear creatures while my new copy didn’t. It’s nothing to complain about, just something different that I grew up used to.

I’ve also started to finally get into The Revnenant by Michael Punke. It took me a few days to get past the beginning (some books start me off that way). This book is one of those that you have to fall in love with slowly or else you’re not going to like it. Parts of it remind me of Cold Mountain when Inman survives off the land while making his way back to Ada. However, the difference is the revenge. Both sets of characters have the necessary task of surviving, however, one’s desperate for revenge while the other’s desperate to find the one he loves while killing to defend himself only.

I looked up the meaning of “revnenant,” though and I found the definition to be beautiful. “A person who has returned, especially supposedly from the dead.” So far, the character Glass is following this definition quite literally. I’m anxious to see how he makes it in the end.

To be continued…

Leave a Reply

